National Design Week (October 9–17, 2010)

Yesterday, Ballista was abuzz in celebration of explorers, nations, and designers. The celebration continues today. At the Ballista office the punch bowl is full and our resident iPod DJ is crafting the perfect mix. Why are we going to such lengths? Because it’s National Design Week!

National Design AwardsTechnically, it is Cooper-Hewitt’s Fifth Annual National Design Week. Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum is part of the Smithsonian Institution, and “is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design.” Since 2000, Cooper-Hewitt has hosted the National Design Awards, and for the past five years the museum has organized National Design Week to increase design education and awareness. Encouraging public understanding and appreciation of design is at the core of the awards program. To quote Cooper-Hewitt, “the annual Awards program celebrates design in various disciplines as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world, and seeks to increase national awareness of design by educating the public and promoting excellence, innovation, and lasting achievement.”

The Awards are given in seven categories that span the design disciplines. There are also awards for Lifetime Achievement, Design Mind, and Corporate and Institution Achievement. That’s ten awards, all for design! And the winners have already been announced, so for the rest of the week we will feature a few of our favorites from list of winners.

You can personally get involved in this week’s action. If you are in New York, Cooper-Hewitt is offering free admission this week. There are also design-related events taking place across the country. Check out the links below for a selection of the events:

Seven Ways to Spend Your National Design Week – UnBeige

Cooper-Hewitt’s Fifth Annual National Design Week, October 9-17 – Core77

National Design Week Scheduled for October 9-17 – Architectural Record

Images via Cooper-Hewitt.

One Response to “National Design Week (October 9–17, 2010)”